The secretary of Homeland Security may designate a foreign country for Temporary Protected Status if conditions in the country meet statutory requirements regarding ongoing armed conflict, natural disasters (including epidemics), or other extraordinary and temporary conditions in the country that temporarily prevent its nationals from returning safely. USCIS may grant TPS to eligible nationals of a designated country, and eligible individuals without nationality who last resided in the designated country and are already in the United States. Individuals who are granted TPS are not removable from the United States, are authorized to work, and may be granted travel authorization.

Countries currently designated for TPS are El Salvador, Haiti, Honduras, Nepal, Nicaragua, Somalia, South Sudan, Syria and Yemen. There are a number of federal cases under review that will have a direct effect on TPS status for several countries.

Because USCIS is continually issuing new directives about filing dates and deadlines for TPS in light of ongoing litigation, it is important for you to keep up to date on the latest developments. Armstrong Law Offices PLLC can evaluate your case to determine whether you are eligible to apply for or extend your TPS status and how best to proceed.

Please read our blog
for immigration updates.

Subscribe Form


8480 Honeycutt Road
Suite 200
Raleigh, North Carolina 27615

The information on this Armstrong Law Offices PLLC website is provided for informational purposes only.

It is not offered as and does not constitute legal advice.

Please see our full legal disclaimer.